|WHITE SCAR CAVE|
lomgest show cave with plenty to interest the serious caver beyond the
tourist section. Easily found 1.5 miles (2.5km) from Ingleton on the
road to Hawes, the cave was first entered in 1923 by Christopher Long
who sadly died the following year. The cave was first opened to the
public in 1925 and in 1971 various caving clubs, in particular the
Happy Wanderers discovered more cave, notably the Battlefield Cavern.
1991 a 200 foot (65m) long tunnel was driven from the then end of the
tourist trail into the Battlefield making it the longest cave on
display to the general public in England.
The cave is open daily
from 10am February 1st to October 31st and at weekends November 1st to
January 31st with extra opening during the Christmas holidays except
for Christmas Day and Boxing Day.
White Scar living up to it's name!
First waterfall in White Scar Cave
The Devil's Tongue
Streamway near the 1990 tunnel to the Battlefield
"Crazy paving" formation, unique in Europe